For Students

Students who wish to nominate their teacher should first check that their teacher is eligible, then complete the online nomination form below and email it or mail it in to Nancy Abbott. See the form for details.

Click here to Download Student's Form


For Nominated Teachers

Nominated teachers need to complete this form once they have spoken with an ABTA representative. Please download and complete the form below, then email it or mail it to Nancy Abbott. See form for full details.

Click here to Download Teacher's Form


All documents and files should be sent by email or mail, with your name and contact information on each document, to:

Joyce Penn, Chairman
2016-2017 Teacher of the Year

Mailing address:
2800 Squires Ridge
Columbus, OH 43220-6201
Deadline for submissions: April 15, 2017


Once all submissions have been received, the Teacher of the Year Committee works together to narrow down the nominations to a group of finalists, using the established criteria to make their decisions.

When the committee has decided on the finalists, all of the finalists are contacted and invited to attend the ABTA Annual Conference. All of the finalists are honored at a special Teacher of the Year ceremony at the ABTA Annual Conference, and the winner of the Teacher of the Year Award is announced.

Teacher of the Year 2016-2017 Committee

Larry Cohen, Barbara Seagram, Tina Radding, Mary Jane Orock, Kathie Walsh, Linda Lee, Nancy Abbott, Joyce Penn.

If you have any problems downloading or opening these files, please contact us at